With a minute to go the Red Wings scored. Great right? No. The referee lost sight of the puck, even though it was laying right on the goal line, and blew play the play dead. Well, actually he didn’t blow the play dead, but he was thinking about it. The puck was in the back of the net by the time the whistle blew, but he was intending to blow it before the puck crossed the line. Well, he blew it alright. I really hate this rule. If you intend to blow the whistle too early, and don’t quite manage to do it, that’s a good thing, why wave that off? You don’t have to tell anybody about your intended mistake. Serenity now!
via Red Wings Blog .
Yes. It's insane. INSANE.