How do goal reviews make you feel? Angry? Nervous? Anxious? Full of fury? All of the above?
Kings fans got to experience all of those emotions twice in mere seconds in the dying moments of tonight’s game. Dustin Brown scored with 18 seconds left in the third, bringing the Kings within one. The team continued to press after that, gaining possession after the face-off, and — scored a goal? That wasn’t a goal? That maybe should have been a goal?
There was a mad scramble in front of the net. It didn’t look like it went in.
HOW DIDN'T THAT GO IN?— Jewels from the Crown (@JFTC_Kings) February 25, 2018
But maybe it did?
IT DID GO IN! Kings tie it up with 10 seconds left.— Jewels from the Crown (@JFTC_Kings) February 25, 2018
The officials make the announcement that the puck crossed the line. Good goal!
Our good friend Goalie Interference rears its head again, and the goal is subsequently reviewed to see if Brown interfered with Cam Talbot’s ability to play his position.
On the broadcast, Jim Fox is going full on CSI, dissecting the play and the way the call was handled by the officials.
I think making a complete explanation when the referee 1st made the announcement would have helped in many areas https://t.co/CzpGdNtm0g— Jim Fox (@JimFox19) February 25, 2018
Team and league responses are below. But what do you think?
Should the tying goal have counted?
This poll is closed
I have other feelings that I will comment with.
Comments from Dustin Brown:
Dustin Brown on controversial disallowed goal:— Dennis Bernstein (@DennisTFP) February 25, 2018
"I wasn't told anything. The puck was loose and I hit it.
That's been the standard - if the puck is under his pad and I jammed it in I can live with it.
It's ridiculous, they want more goals and they keep taking them away"
"It goes from one extreme to the other" - Dustin Brown on his game-tying goal being called back pic.twitter.com/0skxtlNavm— LA Kings (@LAKings) February 25, 2018
Comments from John Stevens:
"I think the league is so confused that I'm confused. They don't know what it is, so how the hell are we supposed to know what it is?"— LA Kings (@LAKings) February 25, 2018
- Head Coach John Stevens on the goalie interference call pic.twitter.com/UQPV8TjWn7
Official NHL Explanation:
The NHL breaks their explanation down into two stages:
- The Situation Room initiates a review to see if the puck crossed the line. Their review said that yes, it did.
- In response to a Coach’s Challenge, the Situation Room re-reviewed the goal for interference. Per the NHL, “After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Brown pushed Talbot’s pad and the puck across the goal line. “