clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State at University of Minnesota: Lines, open thread and how to watch

Watch Kings prospect Brock Faber with the University of Minnesota.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

An overall view during the Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Semifinals between the University of Minnesota Duluth Bulldogs and the Providence Friars held at KeyBank Center on April 11, 2019 in Buffalo, New York. Photo by Bill Wippert/NCAA Photos via Getty Images

Without NHL hockey through the end of the year, we’re going to focus in on prospects hockey. The Los Angeles Kings currently have prospects at three different universities: Brock Faber (2020 draft), University of Minnesota; Alex Laferriere (2020 draft), Harvard University; and Ben Meehan (2020 draft) and Andre Less (2019 draft) at University of Massachusetts-Lowell. We’ll follow them through the first part of the season.

Monday and Tuesday will see Brock Faber and the University of Minnesota Gophers hockey program take on the Ohio State Buckeyes hockey team, opening Ohio’s season. The Buckeyes retained 19 players from last season, giving them a roster of six seniors, four juniors, 11 sophomores, five freshmen and one “redshirt” freshman. Quinn Preston was second in the club last year with 15 goals, making him the top-scoring returner. Senior goaltender Tommy Nappier is a force, ranking eighth with 33 career wins, second in save percentage (.934) and fourth in goals-against average (1.92) among active NCAA goaltenders.

So far, Minnesota has played a two-game series against the Penn State University Nittany Lions late last week, winning both games. They are 31-8-5 all-time against Ohio State, and 17-2-3 when those games are on home ice.



Blake McLaughlin — Samuel Walker — Brandon McManus
Sampo Ranta — Scott Reedy — Jack Perbix
Jonny Sorensen — Ben Meyers — Bryce Brodzinski

Cullen Munson — Jaxon Nelson — Nathan Burke
Mason Nevers

Matt Staudacher — Jackson LaCombe
Ryan Johnson — Brock Faber
Ben Brinkman — Mike Koster

Jack LaFontaine
Jared Moe
Justen Close


Tate Singleton — Eugene Fadyeyev — Matt Cassidy
Mark Cheremeta — Gustaf Westlund — Travis Treloar
Austin Pooley — Patrick Guzzo — Kamil Sadlocha
Michael Gildon — Jaedon Leslie — Quinn Preston
Joe Dunlap

Evan McIntyre — Grant Gabriele
James Marooney — Layton Ahac
Ryan O’Connell — Dominic Vidoli

Tommy Nappier
Ryan Snowden
Evan Moyse

How to Watch

Puck drop is at 5:30 p.m. PT/8:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast on Big Ten Network and streamed on the FOX Sports App and fuboTV.