clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2021 Stanley Cup Playoffs, 6/3: Start times, how to watch & open thread

Steven Stamkos #91 of the Tampa Bay Lightning shoots the puck past the defense of Jaccob Slavin #74 of the Carolina Hurricanes in Game Two of the Second Round of the 2021 Stanley Cup Playoffs against the Carolina Hurricanes on June 1, 2021 at PNC Arena in Raleigh, North Carolina. Photo by Gregg Forwerck/NHLI via Getty Images

East Division Second Round

4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET — Boston Bruins at New York Islanders
Game 3, Series tied 1-1
NBCSN, CBC, TVAS

If you picked the New York Islanders to be the team that tested the Boston Bruins’ depth this postseason, I’m not sure I would’ve believed you, but Game 2 exposed Boston’s reliance on their top line and now the series moves to Long Island tied. After appearing in two losses in Round 1, Semyon Varlamov backstopped the 4-3 overtime victory, likely a reassurance for an Islanders team who has been relying on a rookie goaltender.

Speaking of goaltenders, Boston’s Tuukka Rask may have been dealing with a nagging injury in Game 2, but he still made 35 saves on 39 shots.

Central Division Second Round

5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET — Carolina Hurricanes at Tampa Bay Lightning
Game 3, Lightning lead 2-0
USA, SN, TVAS

The Tampa Bay Lightning pulled out identical 2-1 wins, bringing the series to Amalie Arena with an encouraging 2-0 series lead. But those wins were close, and goaltender Andrei Vasilevskiy is going to continue to feel the heat in Game 3. The Carolina Hurricanes have yet to score at 5-on-5 in this series, but they’ve put 101 unblocked shots and attempts on the Bolts at 5-on-5, compared to Tampa’s 81.

Carolina is overdue for a win, but they’re also feeling the results of a playoff run; Nino Niederreiter is likely out for the rest of the series and Vincent Trocheck is questionable after colliding with teammate Warren Foegele.